Cookie Cake

Hey guys! Happy Friday 🙂

Have you ever had those mornings where you woke up just knowing you had to bake something that day? I had one of those today. I went to class at 7:30am and immediately started looking for recipes between writing lecture notes. Endless blogs later, I found something seriously amazing! It is such a fabulous cookie cake recipe, and I’m excited to share it with y’all. It’s so easy, quick, and super delicious; the really great thing about it is you probably have all the ingredients already in your pantry. Don’t you love recipes like that? 🙂 This cake is only slightly dense, not overly sweet, and crispy on the outside while still maintaining a chewy center. You’re going to love it! Without further ado…

I started by creaming the butter, sour cream, and sugar until it was mixed and slightly fluffy.

I then added the other wet ingredients- vanilla and an egg.

I made sure everything is mixed well; the batter should look like this. (Try to keep from stealing batter from the mixing bowl. It was a challenge for me 😉 )

Here comes the good part… I added in a cup of bite sized candies. I used Reeses Pieces, but use whatever you’d like.

I then put the batter into a greased pie pan. It’s really thick, but I tried to make an even layer.

While the cake baked, I might have helped myself to some leftovers 😉 Reeses Pieces are my weakness!

I tried so hard to let the cake cool completely, but temptation took over after about 5 minutes. 😉 Warm cookie cake sounded too good…

YUM! Feel free to serve with ice cream, or frost with your favorite buttercream frosting!

Cookie Cake 

Adapted from M&M Cookie Pie

1cup + 1 tbs  all purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup butter softened (1 stick)

1/4 cup sour cream

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup Reeses Pieces*

Preheat oven to 325
Cream butter, sour cream, and sugar. Add in egg and extract and blend. Combine flour and baking soda and mix until completely incorporated. Fold in the Reeses Pieces. Pour into a greased pie pan and bake for 25-30 mins. When an inserted toothpick comes out clean, it’s done . Cool, cut into cookie pie slices and enjoy (or enjoy warm out of the oven. 😉 Mmmm…)

*You could use any bite sized candy. Think M&Ms, mini Reeses, chopped up Snickers, Almond Joy pieces, etc. YUM! Let me know if you try different candies in the cake. 🙂

Cheers!

-L

Leave a Reply

